Day by Day

Here is the plan that I have created using the RW's “Train Less, Run Faster” article from the August 2005 edition. The article highlights the F.I.R.S.T. at Furman University (GO FU!) and their approach to training. It seems that this plan will fit into my schedule and I have devised a scheme, errr training regiment, that should be workable for me. The training program will be for the Knoxville Marathon on March 26th 2006. Last year, I was registered but was unable to run due to pneumonia complications.

Here is legend for the table:
Date/Day/Note – pretty obvious
Name – chronological identifier for the week. I prefer a 12 week training program, but I think that I should commit to a 16 week (standard time period) but you will notice that I have added 5 weeks called Base. This is the “I'm not in official training” but rather getting some mileage in to start official training already [insert pun here] a leg ahead
Day – This is the general classifications for my “Day”. Cross – Crosstraining, Easy – Runs at a comfortable pace, Long – runs that are 10 miles or more, Repeats – aka Intervals – run a distance fast recover run 1/2 distance repeat, Speed – 5k race pace, Tempo – Tempo Workouts something faster than easy but slower than intervals
Type – Short, med, Long and interval number which dictates the speed at which I should be running given the “Day” I am supposed to have
Mileage – The amount of distance that I am schedule to run
Distance – Same a Mileage, only in Repeats is the number of total meters to run at pace
Recovery – Repeats only, the amount of distance for the recovery runs between intervals
Total Mileage – Distance + Recovery
Faster End Pace / Slower End Pace – This is the window of pace that I should be running given the “Day” this pace was calculated from my last 10k run of 50:02 where my pace was 8:03 mile. I expect this to change as my training increases. Either way, the slower end of my “Long Run” is 9:18 a PR pace for me, but in most cases my Marathon pace (based on “Long” run pace) would be a 9:48 to 10:18
Weekly – Total Mileage for the week. By most standards, the mileage (20-30 miles per week) is not adequate for running a marathon. But to be honest, I have completed with very little mileage, so it will not be new territory

Most of my running will be done during my lunch time, but some will be after work. If I tutor this fall, I will have one day a week that I will be on campus until 9 or so. As a result, I will have an hour or so where I can run before having to go to tutoring. So those days will be a Twofer. Also, on Tuesdays I will be bringing Eric to preschool, so I will go in late, this will give me a chance to run in the am where I could get in as much as 5 miles, then at lunch can get the rest of mileage, another Twofer. Saturdays will be for long runs, which is nice because I can accommodate some KTC races on those days.

Date Day Note Name Day Type Mileage Distance Recovery Total Mileage Faster End Pace Slower End Pace Weekly
10/31/2005 Monday   Base1 Cross none 0 0 0          
11/1/2005 Tuesday   Base1 Tempo short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
11/2/2005 Wednesday   Base1 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
11/3/2005 Thursday   Base1 Speed short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
11/4/2005 Friday   Base1 Rest none off 0 0 0          
11/5/2005 Saturday   Base1 Long long 5 5 0 5 09 03 09 18  
11/6/2005 Sunday   Base1 Rest none off 0 0 0         11
11/7/2005 Monday   Base2 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
11/8/2005 Tuesday   Base2 Tempo short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
11/9/2005 Wednesday   Base2 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
11/10/2005 Thursday   Base2 Speed short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
11/11/2005 Friday   Base2 Rest none off 0 0 0          
11/12/2005 Saturday   Base2 Long long 6 6 0 6 09 03 09 18  
11/13/2005 Sunday   Base2 Rest none off 0 0 0         12
11/14/2005 Monday   Base3 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
11/15/2005 Tuesday   Base3 Tempo short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
11/16/2005 Wednesday   Base3 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
11/17/2005 Thursday   Base3 Speed short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
11/18/2005 Friday   Base3 Rest none off 0 0 0          
11/19/2005 Saturday   Base3 Long long 8 8 0 8 09 03 09 18  
11/20/2005 Sunday   Base3 Rest none off 0 0 0         14
11/21/2005 Monday   Base4 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
11/22/2005 Tuesday   Base4 Tempo short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
11/23/2005 Wednesday   Base4 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
11/24/2005 Thursday Autumnfest 8k Base4 Speed short 5 5 0 5 08 03 08 03  
11/25/2005 Friday   Base4 Rest none off 0 0 0          
11/26/2005 Saturday   Base4 Long long 10 10 0 10 09 03 09 18  
11/27/2005 Sunday   Base4 Rest none off 0 0 0         18
11/28/2005 Monday   Base5 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
11/29/2005 Tuesday   Base5 Tempo short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
11/30/2005 Wednesday   Base5 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
12/1/2005 Thursday   Base5 Speed short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
12/2/2005 Friday   Base5 Rest none off 0 0 0          
12/3/2005 Saturday   Base5 Long long 8 8 0 8 09 03 09 18  
12/4/2005 Sunday Reindeer Run 5k Base5 Rest none 3.1 0 0 0         14
12/5/2005 Monday   Week1 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
12/6/2005 Tuesday   Week1 Tempo short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
12/7/2005 Wednesday   Week1 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
12/8/2005 Thursday   Week1 Repeats 400 8×400 3200 0 2 08 58 09 03  
12/9/2005 Friday   Week1 Rest none off 0 0 0          
12/10/2005 Saturday   Week1 Long long 10 10 0 10 09 03 09 18  
12/11/2005 Sunday   Week1 Rest none off 0 0 0         15
12/12/2005 Monday   Week2 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
12/13/2005 Tuesday   Week2 Tempo med 5 5 0 5 08 18 08 23  
12/14/2005 Wednesday   Week2 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
12/15/2005 Thursday   Week2 Repeats 1200 4×1200 4800 2400 4.5 08 43 08 48  
12/16/2005 Friday   Week2 Rest none off 0 0 0          
12/17/2005 Saturday   Week2 Long long 12 12 0 12 09 03 09 18  
12/18/2005 Sunday   Week2 Rest none off 0 0 0         21.5
12/19/2005 Monday   Week3 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
12/20/2005 Tuesday   Week3 Tempo med 7 7 0 7 08 18 08 23  
12/21/2005 Wednesday   Week3 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
12/22/2005 Thursday   Week3 Repeats 800 6×800 4800 2400 4.5 08 48 08 53  
12/23/2005 Friday   Week3 Rest none off 0 0 0          
12/24/2005 Saturday Christmas Eve Week3 Long long 13 13 0 13 09 03 09 18  
12/25/2005 Sunday Christmas Week3 Rest none off 0 0 0         24.5
12/26/2005 Monday   Week4 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
12/27/2005 Tuesday   Week4 Tempo short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
12/28/2005 Wednesday   Week4 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
12/29/2005 Thursday   Week4 Repeats 1600 3×1600 4800 2400 4.5 08 38 08 43  
12/30/2005 Friday   Week4 Rest none off 0 0 0          
12/31/2005 Saturday New Year's Eve Week4 Long long 10 10 0 10 09 03 09 18  
1/1/2006 Sunday New Year's Day Week4 Rest none off 0 0 0         17.5
1/2/2006 Monday   Week5 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
1/3/2006 Tuesday   Week5 Tempo med 5 5 0 5 08 18 08 23  
1/4/2006 Wednesday   Week5 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
1/5/2006 Thursday   Week5 Repeats 400 10×400 4000 2000 3.75 08 58 09 03  
1/6/2006 Friday   Week5 Rest none off 0 0 0          
1/7/2006 Saturday   Week5 Long long 14 14 0 14 09 03 09 18  
1/8/2006 Sunday   Week5 Rest none off 0 0 0         22.75
1/9/2006 Monday   Week6 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
1/10/2006 Tuesday   Week6 Tempo med 5 5 0 5 08 18 08 23  
1/11/2006 Wednesday   Week6 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
1/12/2006 Thursday   Week6 Repeats 1200 5×1200 6000 3000 5.625 08 43 08 48  
1/13/2006 Friday   Week6 Rest none off 0 0 0          
1/14/2006 Saturday   Week6 Long long 15 15 0 15 09 03 09 18  
1/15/2006 Sunday   Week6 Rest none off 0 0 0         25.625
1/16/2006 Monday MLK? Week7 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
1/17/2006 Tuesday   Week7 Tempo long 8 8 0 8 09 03 09 18  
1/18/2006 Wednesday   Week7 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
1/19/2006 Thursday   Week7 Repeats 800 7×800 5600 2800 5.25 08 48 08 53  
1/20/2006 Friday   Week7 Rest none off 0 0 0          
1/21/2006 Saturday   Week7 Long long 17 17 0 17 09 03 09 18  
1/22/2006 Sunday   Week7 Rest none off 0 0 0         30.25
1/23/2006 Monday   Week8 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
1/24/2006 Tuesday   Week8 Tempo long 10 10 0 10 09 03 09 18  
1/25/2006 Wednesday   Week8 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
1/26/2006 Thursday   Week8 Repeats 1600 3×1600 4800 2400 4.5 08 38 08 43  
1/27/2006 Friday   Week8 Rest none off 0 0 0          
1/28/2006 Saturday Calhoun's? Week8 Long long 13 13 0 13 09 03 09 18  
1/29/2006 Sunday   Week8 Rest none off 0 0 0         27.5
1/30/2006 Monday   Week9 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
1/31/2006 Tuesday   Week9 Tempo short 3 3 0 3 08 03 08 03  
2/1/2006 Wednesday   Week9 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
2/2/2006 Thursday   Week9 Repeats 400 12×400 4800 2400 4.5 08 58 09 03  
2/3/2006 Friday   Week9 Rest none off 0 0 0          
2/4/2006 Saturday   Week9 Long long 18 18 0 18 09 03 09 18  
2/5/2006 Sunday   Week9 Rest none off 0 0 0         25.5
2/6/2006 Monday   Week10 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
2/7/2006 Tuesday   Week10 Tempo med 5 5 0 5 08 18 08 23  
2/8/2006 Wednesday   Week10 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
2/9/2006 Thursday   Week10 Repeats 800 8×800 6400 3200 6 08 48 08 53  
2/10/2006 Friday   Week10 Rest none off 0 0 0          
2/11/2006 Saturday   Week10 Long long 15 15 0 15 09 03 09 18  
2/12/2006 Sunday   Week10 Rest none off 0 0 0         26
2/13/2006 Monday   Week11 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
2/14/2006 Tuesday Valentine's Day Week11 Tempo long 8 8 0 8 09 03 09 18  
2/15/2006 Wednesday   Week11 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
2/16/2006 Thursday   Week11 Repeats 1600 4×1600 6400 3200 6 08 38 08 43  
2/17/2006 Friday   Week11 Rest none off 0 0 0          
2/18/2006 Saturday Strawplains? Week11 Long long 20 20 0 20 09 03 09 18  
2/19/2006 Sunday   Week11 Rest none off 0 0 0         34
2/20/2006 Monday   Week12 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
2/21/2006 Tuesday   Week12 Tempo med 5 5 0 5 08 18 08 23  
2/22/2006 Wednesday   Week12 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
2/23/2006 Thursday   Week12 Repeats 400 12×400 4800 2400 4.5 08 58 09 03  
2/24/2006 Friday   Week12 Rest none off 0 0 0          
2/25/2006 Saturday   Week12 Long long 15 15 0 15 09 03 09 18  
2/26/2006 Sunday   Week12 Rest none off 0 0 0         24.5
2/27/2006 Monday   Week13 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
2/28/2006 Tuesday   Week13 Tempo med 5 5 0 5 08 18 08 23  
3/1/2006 Wednesday   Week13 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
3/2/2006 Thursday   Week13 Repeats 1200 6×1200 7200 3600 6.75 08 43 08 48  
3/3/2006 Friday   Week13 Rest none off 0 0 0          
3/4/2006 Saturday   Week13 Long long 20 20 0 20 09 03 09 18  
3/5/2006 Sunday   Week13 Rest none off 0 0 0         31.75
3/6/2006 Monday   Week14 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
3/7/2006 Tuesday   Week14 Tempo med 4 4 0 4 08 18 08 23  
3/8/2006 Wednesday   Week14 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
3/9/2006 Thursday   Week14 Repeats 800 7×800 5600 2800 5.25 08 48 08 53  
3/10/2006 Friday   Week14 Rest none off 0 0 0          
3/11/2006 Saturday   Week14 Long long 15 15 0 15 09 03 09 18  
3/12/2006 Sunday   Week14 Rest none off 0 0 0         24.25
3/13/2006 Monday   Week15 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
3/14/2006 Tuesday   Week15 Tempo long 8 8 0 8 09 03 09 18  
3/15/2006 Wednesday   Week15 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
3/16/2006 Thursday   Week15 Repeats 1600 3×1600 4800 2400 4.5 08 38 08 43  
3/17/2006 Friday St. Patrick's Day Week15 Rest none off 0 0 0          
3/18/2006 Saturday   Week15 Long long 10 10 0 10 09 03 09 18  
3/19/2006 Sunday   Week15 Rest none off 0 0 0         22.5
3/20/2006 Monday   Week16 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
3/21/2006 Tuesday   Week16 Easy long 30 min 3 0 3 09 03 09 18  
3/22/2006 Wednesday   Week16 Cross none swim 0 0 0          
3/23/2006 Thursday   Week16 easy long 20 min 2 0 2 09 03 09 18  
3/24/2006 Friday   Week16 Rest none off 0 0 0          
3/25/2006 Saturday   Week16 Rest none off 0 0 0          
3/26/2006 Sunday   Race Day Rest none marathon               5

Comments? Suggestions? Leave a Comment!

About planet3rry

I'm a husband, father and runner in the Knoxville area. I love the way that running makes me feel and how it has changed my thinking. I am always looking for the new PR whether in the 5k or the marathon